Menu Plan Monday 07.30.2012

I’ve been so busy decorating my house, I haven’t been blogging! Not to worry, I have pics and posts brewing in my brain. Look for some soon!

In the meantime, my husband and I decided recently to make a change in our diets. We were trying to do one meatless meal per week, and because I’d hit a weight loss plateau and because hubby is training for a big cycling ride, we decided to increase our meatless meals to at least 3 times per week. We’ve also started working out together at least 4 times per week (he’s better than me, I do the minimum 4 times a week, but he’s going at 6 times a week right now – go Jason!). We’ve both lost 5 pounds so far! Yay! I’m just 1 pound from my pre-baby #4 weight, and 9 pounds from my pre-kids weight over a decade ago!

Anyway, below is our menu for this week. It’s a good sampling of how we’ve been eating lately. If you follow me on Pinterest, I’ve been collecting recipes like crazy on my Meatless Meals board and my Family Menu board. When we’ve tried something and loved it, I’ve repinned with an update, so watch for my recommendations!

(PS. I’ve also been working on a Sunday through Saturday menu plan, so this menu started yesterday… )

Meal Plan Monday

SundayPortobello Philly Cheese Steaks Sandwiches, baked fries (the sandwiches were delicious, try this recipe!).

Monday:  Avocado Chicken Salad Sandwiches (I don’t have a recipe for these, we just make homemade guacamole, mix shredded chicken in and eat it on a whole wheat bun, it’s a nice alternative to chicken salad with mayo), and green salad.

Tuesday:  Baked Ziti and Summer Veggies (this will be our first time trying this recipe!), and a green salad.

WednesdayPan-Seared Tilapia with Citrus Vinaigrette (we had this last week, the kids inhaled it, it was so good!), long grain wild rice and roasted brussel sprouts.

ThursdayOrecchiette with Kale, Bacon, and Sun-Dried Tomatoes (tried this for the first time a couple of weeks ago – yummy and so good for you with all that kale!) and Italian bread. This isn’t a true meatless meal since it has bacon, but we go easy on the bacon so we count it as meatless-ish. Haha!

Friday:  Pizza Friday! We’ve switched from delivery or takeout pizza to store-bought frozen pizza for the time being because it’s fewer calories. Eventually we’ll get back to making homemade. My tip for making store-bought frozen pizza taste better is to tear fresh basil and oregano into pieces and sprinkle over the pizza as soon as it comes out of the oven. It gives the pizza a flavor boost without extra calories!

SaturdayFlounder Piccata (another new recipe for us), long grain wild rice and green beans sautéed with shallots and garlic.

I’ll be sure to update on how the new recipes turn out. Happy eating!

One thought on “Menu Plan Monday 07.30.2012

  1. Just stopping by from Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday!
    Congrats on the weight loss.
    It looks like it’s going to be in the low 100’s but humid in Las Vegas today.
    Chicken is below a $1 a lb in my area so I’ve stocked up. That’s got me on a lookout for yummy chicken recipes.
    Your menu plan looks delicious!
    I hope you have a terrific week

Leave a comment