pretty magazine files, easy!

Long time no post, eh?

I’m just starting the process of organizing and decorating my home office and I thought I might share some of the steps I take here on the trusty ‘ole blog.

I’m sick with a cold and my husband’s traveling for work, so one teeny little step to start.

I bought these cardboard magazine file boxes from Ikea for $2/5 pk.

Ikea Magazine File Box _ plain

I knew when I saw them that I’d cover them somehow. Originally, I wanted to use fabric, but then I quickly realized it’d be much easier to use paper. Paper with my very own homemade designs. I whipped up some words and graphics and printed them on 8.5 x 14″ paper.

paper and spray adhesive

And then I bought this handy dandy can of spray adhesive! Forgive me, this is the first time I’ve used glue in a can and wowee wow wow! I’m going to be gluing stuff to other stuff for days. Love. (Nevermind that my hands and forearms are now sticky from spraying and holding… that’ll go away with a good scrubbing, I hope!)

Cut the paper to fit, spray the adhesive onto the back and apply it to the magazine file like a sticker. Voila!

new pretty magazine file

Here are a few together on my bookshelf. I didn’t crop out the mess on the shelf above so you can see how this organizing is truly needed.

pretty boxes on messy shelf

Spray adhesive rocks my world. Let’s see what else I can use it for…

5 thoughts on “pretty magazine files, easy!

  1. Yes! My scrapbook paper stash was the first place I looked. None of the colors/patterns were what I was looking for, so I resorted to making my own, mostly because I was lazy and didn’t want to go out. Ha!

    And thank you, I would love to blog more. I haven’t been very crafty lately.

Leave a Reply

